JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction

Pulitzer Prize Coin Front

The Pulitzer Prizes, started by New York World publisher Joseph Pulitzer (1847-1911), are awarded each year for letters (books), works in journalism, music, and the arts produced during the previous calendar year. The prizes are normally announced in May of each year. Winners receive a cash prize, a medal and/or a certificate.

During some years no award was given.

Started in 1962 , the General Non-Fiction winner is the most distinguished work of non-fiction (by an American author) as recognized by the Nominating Juries and The Pulitzer Prize Board. This category was introduced to be a separate prize from the previously established categories of History (which concentrates on American history) and Biography (or Autobiography).

The Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction 1962-Present.