JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Pulitzer Prize Coin Front

The Pulitzer Prizes, started by New York World publisher Joseph Pulitzer (1847-1911), are awarded each year for letters (books), works in journalism, music, and the arts produced during the previous calendar year. The prizes are normally announced in May of each year. Winners receive a cash prize, a medal and/or a certificate.

During some years no award was given.

Previously known as Novel (from 1917-1947), the Fiction winner is the most distinguished work of fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, as recognized by the Nominating Juries and The Pulitzer Prize Board.

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 1948-Present.