JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Nebula Awards

The Nebula Award is a writing award given in several categories by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA). The Nebula Award honors excellence in science fiction for work that appeared in the previous calendar year. The awards are given by authors to authors, and many times the winners of the Nebula award also won the Hugo Award, an award given by fans. The Nebula - named for the image of a star nebula on it - was first awarded in 1965.

Winners are voted on by the SFWA and announced at its Nebula Awards Weekend, which occurs in late April or early May of each year.

Categories have developed over time and now include, but are not limited to, the following:

Nebula Awards click here.
Best Novel
Best Novella
Best Novelette
Best Short Story
Best Script