JPL Logo
My Library Account

"How Do I...?"

Ask a Librarian logo

Aventis Awards

The Royal Society Prizes for Science Books are an annual book prize, which celebrate the very best in popular science writing for adults and children. The Prizes are owned by the Royal Society, the UK national academy of science, who manage the Prizes with the generous support of the Aventis Foundation. The Prizes aim to encourage the writing, publishing and reading of good and accessible popular science books. They have grown to become the world's most prestigious award for popular science writing and are amongst the UK's most prestigious non-fiction literary prizes.

There are two categories: The Junior , which is given to the best book written for under-14s, and the General , for the best book written for a more general readership. A panel of five judges nominates all finalists and selects the winner for the General , while the winner of the Junior is selected by UK children under 14 years of age.

Award winners are announced in May of each year.

The prizes were established in 1988 when they were sponsored by Rhône-Poulenc and known as the Rhône-Poulenc Prizes. From 2000 to 2006 they were sponsored by the Aventis Foundation, and were known as the Aventis Prizes for Science Books.

The Best in Popular Science Writing for Adults and Children